Valencia’s new restrictions: What you need to know

Valencia's new restrictions: What you need to know
Image: Jose Jordan / AFP
Valencia regional authorities announced a raft of new restrictions on Tuesday, January 5th, which will run from January 7th until the end of the month.

Valencia's regional government said that it would follow Catalonia’s model by closing the borders of 26 of its municipalities, starting from Thursday January 7th.

These municipalities include Borriol, Atzeneta del Maestrat, Soneja, Jérica, Alcoy, Castalla, Polop, Llíria, Massanassa, Ayora, Utiel, Sedaví, Sollana, Guadassuar, Moixent, Ontinyent, Oliva, Daimús, Canals, Benigànim, Sinarcas, Anna, Bonrepós i Mirambell, Xàtiva, Quatretonda and Cheste.

These means no travel between municipalities is allowed, except in special circumstances. 

It also announced an extension to its regional border closure until January 31st.

The curfew time will also change from 11pm to 10pm, and begin from midnight on January 7th.

Another of the big changes from January 7th, will be new rules for bars and restaurants, which will be forced to close at 5pm.

The number of people allowed at each table will also be reduced to only four, and smoking on the terraces will be prohibited.

The Valencian government has also said that it will reduce the capacity of its businesses to 30 percent.

A maximum of six people will be able to meet for social interactions, both in public and private spaces.

The President of Valencia, Ximo Puig said that these new measures were “necessary to protect the population and preserve essential health services” and that the current “situation of the pandemic is very serious”.

Member comments

Become a Member to leave a comment.Or login here.