Sweden removes its travel warning for three more countries

Sweden removes its travel warning for three more countries
Travellers at Schiphol airport in Amsterdam. Photo: Mikael Fritzon/TT
Sweden has extended its general advice against non-essential travel, but a further three countries have been exempted from the warning.

From August 27th, the advice is lifted for journeys to Bulgaria, the Netherlands and Romania, the foreign ministry said on Wednesday.

Earlier this summer Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Denmark, France, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Portugal, San Marino, Spain, Switzerland, and the Vatican were all removed from the travel warning.

But for countries not on that list – including for example the UK, USA, and India – the ministry's advice against non-essential travel has been extended.

For countries within the EU/EEA and Schengen area, including the UK, the travel warning is in place until September 9th.

And for all other countries, the warning applies until November 15th this year.

The foreign ministry's advice against non-essential travel is not a legally binding ban, but has other implications that residents in Sweden may want to take into account before deciding to travel, for example that your Swedish travel insurance may not be valid if you disregard the advice.

The guidance has been in place since an early stage in the pandemic, due to global uncertainty and travel bans, so it relates to restrictions in place for travellers rather than being based on the spread of infection in the countries.

That said, it is important to remember that individual countries may also have their own rules about entry from Sweden, and that these may change quickly.

Member comments

The Local is not responsible for content posted by users.

  1. Can you please post the Swedish Covid travel information website, so that we can get the most up to date information about travel restrictions to other countries coming from Sweden and vice versa? thanks

Become a Member to leave a comment.Or login here.