MAP: Where can you travel to from France?

MAP: Where can you travel to from France?
Photo: AFP
France's borders are now open to all European travellers, but plenty of other countries still have restrictions in place - so where can you visit if you're travelling from France?

From June 15th the EU has recommended a generalised easing of border controls within the European bloc.

But while many countries including France, Germany, Italy and Switzerland have opened up their borders, there are plenty of other countries that are either still restricting entry or imposing extra requirements such as quarantines.

European travel restrictions are based on where you are coming from, not which passport you hold.

So if you're based in France, here's a look at where you can go.

!function(){“use strict”;window.addEventListener(“message”,(function(a){if(void 0![“datawrapper-height”])for(var e in[“datawrapper-height”]){var t=document.getElementById(“datawrapper-chart-“+e)||document.querySelector(“iframe[src*='”+e+”‘]”);t&&([“datawrapper-height”][e]+”px”)}}))}();


Open borders

France no longer has any limits on travel for anyone arriving from the EU, the UK or the Schengen zone, although arrivals from the UK and Spain are “invited” to do a voluntary 14-day quarantine.

Other countries that have lifted restrictions are Belgium, Luxembourg, Switzerland, Andorra, Italy, Croatia, Austria, Germany, the Netherlands, the Czech Republic, Poland, Latvia, Lithuania, Bulgaria and Sweden.

Spain lifted its quarantine requirement on June 21st, so travel between France and Spain is now open, and high-speed train services between French and Spanish cities are set to resume.

Quarantine and/or compulsory Covid-19 screening

Other countries have imposed compulsory quarantines on international arrivals including the UK. France has  declared a reciprocal quarantine for arrivals in France from the UK, but this is voluntary. The British quarantine has no end date, but is due to be reviewed by June 29th.

Ireland, Iceland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Hungary, Romania, Estonia, Finland and Greece have all imposed quarantines and/or compulsory health screening for arrivals from France.


Within Europe, four countries are still limiting entry – Norway, Finland, Denmark and Malta.

Norway, Finland and Denmark have opened up their borders to arrivals from other Nordic countries, but not to the rest of Europe. Travellers from France need to be able to fulfil the criteria to enter, which includes citizens of those countries, permanent residents, people travelling from other Nordic countries and those travelling for essential reasons.

Malta remains closed to all non-essential travel.

Overseas French territories

Travel outside Europe is still restricted, but if you fancy a longer trip the islands of Gaudeloupe, Martinique and Réunion are part of French territory and therefore have no restrictions for people arriving from France.

Note: Border policies are subject to change and remain at the discretion of the responsible country.

Always check with the responsible country if you will be able to enter with the passport(s) you hold. 

If you are travelling to an EU country, the EU's Re:open site gives the latest travel information.


Member comments

The Local is not responsible for content posted by users.

Become a Member to leave a comment.Or login here.