HV71 seal Swedish ice hockey final win

HV71 left the capital clutching the Swedish ice hockey championship trophy on Saturday after a dramatic victory over Stockholm team Djurgården in game six of the final series.

HV71 seal Swedish ice hockey final win

The team from Jönköping in southern Sweden secured the title with a 3-2 overtime win in yet another thrilling encounter between two teams that have served up a final set to enter the history books as one of the classics. Teemu Laine scored the winning goal at Hovet Arena to seal a 4-2 victory for HV71 in the best of seven series.

With the home supporters in full voice in game six of a final series frequently marred by crowd trouble, Djurgården took advantage of a powerplay in the second period as Andreas Holmqvist struck a powerful shot beyond the reach of HV71’s unsighted goalkeeper Stefan Liv.

But the home supporters were silenced just 25 seconds after taking the lead when Pasi Puistola popped up to tie the game going into the final period.

HV71 made use of a powerplay early into the period to creep into the lead for the first time through David Petrasek, before Kristoffer Ottosson returned the compliment for Djurgården to tie the game. For the fifth time in succession, overtime was needed to separate the two sides.

Djurgården piled on the pressure, with Andreas Engqvist hitting shots against both the goalpost and cross bar before Teemu Laine scored the goal that sent Jönköping home with the Elitserien trophy for the fourth time in the club’s history.

Member comments

Log in here to leave a comment.
Become a Member to leave a comment.


Sweden beat Swiss to win ice hockey world title in shoot-out drama

Sweden retained their world championship title with a dramatic penalty shoot-out victory over plucky Switzerland in Copenhagen on Sunday.

Sweden beat Swiss to win ice hockey world title in shoot-out drama
Swiss players react after the defeat to Sweden. Photo: AFP

Filip Forsberg of the NHL's Nashville Predators scored the winning penalty as Sweden came back from 1-0 down in the shoot-out to win 2-1 following a 2-2 draw after overtime.

Surprise finalists Switzerland had been aiming for their first ever world title, while Sweden claimed an 11th crown.

Sweden had been the only unbeaten team through the group stage while Switzerland scraped into the quarter-finals with the weakest record.

But they stunned Group B winners Finland and then Canada to take their place in a third world championship final.

Five years ago they had lost to Sweden, who beat them 5-3 in the group stages too.

Switzerland twice took the lead, in each of the first two periods, but were pegged back by the favourites before the end of each stanza.

Minnesota Wild's Nino Niederreiter had given them a 16th minute lead but Gustav Nyquist of the Detroit Red Wings equalised a minute later.

On 23 minutes Timo Meier of the San Jose Sharks put the underdogs in front again, but that was wiped out by New York Ranger Mika Zibanejad on 34 minutes.

With no scores in either the third period or overtime, the final was decided by a shoot-out where Switzerland once again took the lead.

But Oliver Ekman-Larsson cancelled out Sven Andrighetto's successful strike, allowing Forsberg to become the hero.

Christopher Kreider of the Rangers scored twice as the United States thumped Canada 4-1 to take the bronze medal.

 After Kreider opened the scoring, Marc-Edouard Vlasic of the Sharks equalised.

But goals from Nashville's Nicholas Bonino and Anders Lee of the New York Islanders put the US in charge before Kreider rounded out the win.